Posted by: Madelyn (Starlie) | May 23, 2011

How to Overcome Fear

The following is my first attempt to summarize Dad’s sermon. I pray that it will be helpful to you!

~Madelyn

(Please listen to the full sermon here:)

How to Overcome Fear [click here to download]

Psalm 56:2-3: “What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee.In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.”
The Lord is with me, so I don’t have to fear. Fear is a time thing, it will eventually pass away. For example, Psalm 30:5 tells us “…weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.” And in Psalm 56:3, it says “What time I am afraid”. By faith we see after our fear has been conquered. Fear is time to flee to the Lord, not to things, i.e. doctors, friends, stores, etc. Trials should be times of growth. God isn’t in a hurry, we must learn patience. Don’t be a slave to fear or time.

1 John 4:16-18: “And we have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him. Herein is our love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as he is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.”
The answer to fear is love. God wants us to have what He has; blessing, love, bounty, joy, etc. When we trust God instead of fearing/doubting, the blessings, joy, bounty, peace, etc. will come. On the other hand, Satan also wants us to have what he has; torment, hate, evil, pain, etc. When we doubt God and fear dangers, Satan will try to attack us with torment, evil, etc. Hell is the ultimate fear.

Fear brings torment. Take for example some one who fears having a heart attack. This fear is a constant torment which whispers “what if, what if, what if….” In attempts to prevent the potential danger, this person runs to doctors, medicine, any”thing” that could prevent it. The other alternative is to cast that fear on the Lord. When we trust in the Lord to protect us, we gain a peace that nothing else can give. We are no longer tormented by the fear of something happening, because we know God will protect us. Again, perfect love cast out fear. This perfect love is actually Jesus living in us. Jesus doesn’t fear anything, and if he is living in us, we shouldn’t have to fear anything either.

A few more random notes: Fear makes people sin. Don’t torment yourself or let others torment you. Don’t put fear in others, rather, build them up by encouragement, reminding them that Jesus can take away their fears. Praise His word by learning, quoting, honoring, loving it. (Psalm 56:3).

~Jesus will keep you from fear, fear will keep you from Jesus.~
~Fear knocked at the door, faith answered, no one was there.~

Scriptures for further edification:

2 Timothy 1:7 “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.”

Hebrews 13:6 “So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.”

Philippians 4:6 “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.”

Psalm 37 “Fret not thyself because of evildoers, neither be thou envious against the workers of iniquity…….”

Joshua 1:9 “Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.”

John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

